Jul 30th to Aug 5th Shows and Highlights

If you haven’t grabbed it yet, the new weekly schedule can be found by clicking to see Full Story & Pictures and then the following link; ShowSchedules

A busy week coming up beginning with an encore presentation of a RadioClassics tribute for cartoon voice legend and radio actress June Foray (9/18/1917 – 7/26/2017). The future voice of Rocky The Flying Squirrel, Natasha Fatale, Nell Fenwick, Cindy Lou Who (How The Grinch Stole Christmas), Granny (Looney Tunes) and so much more, will be heard in multiple roles in an hour of The Stan Freberg Show, plus appearances on Harris & Faye and Rocky Fortune. Airs Sunday (7/30) at 4pm ET (3pm CT, 2pm MT, 1pm PT).

On to the regular programming

We mark the 87th anniversary of the debut of The Shadow. This year I have four straight episodes of the character which debuted on radio on the evening of July 31st, 1930. You’ll hear Orson Welles, Bill Johnstone and Bret Morrison in the famed radio role.

As to birthdays we celebrate:

Wally Maher (two different specials featuring his work on The Whistler, Suspense, The Lineup and Michael Shayne, Detective); David Brian (Mr. District Attorney); Parley Baer (Chester on Gunsmoke and also featured on Suspense, Tales Of The Texas Rangers, etc); Robert Taylor (Lux Radio Theater’s “Broadway Bill”, Suspense’s “House In Cypress Canyon”); Louis Armstrong (Jack Benny Program, An American Gallery); Gary Merrill (Gangbusters) and Barbara Fuller still with us and 92! (Night Beat, Philip Marlowe).

And finally to answer a question I have been getting quite frequently since my return from the 5th annual Radio Spirits sea cruise, yes there will be a 6th annual event as we are heading to Alaska in August 2018. Head to www.cruisingwithgregbell.com for the details and to secure a cabin.

Greg

Hover on picture for caption and click for larger image